Tuesday, July 28, 2020

2019 Ladies of Horror Fiction Awards

The Ladies of Horror Fiction team would like to congratulate all of the inaugural 2019 Ladies of Horror Fiction Award recipients. Please join us in celebrating these amazing women and their outstanding works of horror fiction.

Best Collection

Winner: Little Paranoias, Sonora Taylor

Also nominated:

Collision: Stories, J.S. Breukelaar
Ghosts of You, Cathy Ulrich
Out of Water, Sarah Read

Best Debut

Winner: The Luminous Dead, Caitlin Starling

Also nominated:

The Bone Weaver’s Orchard, Sarah Read
Little Darlings, Melanie Golding
Theme Music, T. Marie Vandelly

Best Poetry Collection

Winner: Choking Back the Devil, Donna Lynch

Also nominated:

Mary Shelley Makes a Monster, Octavia Cade
The Apocalyptic Mannequin, Stephanie M. Wytovich

Best Novel

Winners: Bunny, Mona Awad and Without Condition, Sonora Taylor

Also nominated:

Ninth House, Leigh Bardugo
River of Souls, T.L. Bodine
The Twisted Ones, T. Kingfisher

Best Novella

Winner: To Be Devoured, Sara Tantlinger

Also nominated:

Dear Laura, Gemma Amor
The Ladderman, Angela Archer
The Festering Ones, S.H. Cooper
Halloween Fiend, C.V. Hunt

Best Young Adult

Winner: Wilder Girls, Rory Power

Also nominated:

Five Midnights, Ann Dávila Cardinal
House of Salt and Sorrows,
Erin A. Craig
Rules for Vanishing, Kate Alice Marshall

Short Fiction

Honorable Mentions:

‘Till Death Do Us Part, Peggy Christie (Dark Doorways)
A Song for Wounded Mouths, Kristi DeMeester (PseudoPod 641: Artemis Rising 5)
Jack-O-Lantern, Gabrielle Faust (#ScaryStories)
Sun Dogs, Laura Mauro (Sing Your Sadness Deep)
What Throat, Annie Neugebauer (PseudoPod 640: Artemis Rising 5)
Butterflies, Samanta Schweblin (Mouthful of Birds)
The Woman Next Door, Ha Seong-nan (Flowers of Mold)
Quadrapocalypse, Sonora Taylor (Little Paranoias)
Weary Bones, Sonora Taylor (Little Paranoias)

No comments:

Post a Comment